I thank you ALL for your responses, which are so much appreciated. TBH I sometimes feel kinda lonely here with the full weight of tech-support on my shoulders. I shouldn't feel that way because (a) I have been using Macs since 1986 and have installed and converted up and up through the range ever since; and (b) there is masses of help available, now, on the internet. The lonely feeling derives from being the only one here with that background and I used to work in a big IT department with other shoulders to lean on, PLUS in those days, they weren't my computers, I could go home at the end of the day and leave things to someone else!

Anyway. We've had a Big Discussion here and decided to replace both old trusty-G4s. They work, they're in full production, but parts of them are no longer reliable (power-on on one, disk burning on another) which makes me very uneasy and adds to the stress which is inherent in running a DTP business.

I have done HOURS of research and do not make buying decisions lightly! I've now bought a G4 MDD dual processor tower from Amazon, which should arrive by the end of the week. The specification is as high as I can achieve for what I want, which is booting into OS9 for those applications for that job in this office. I've got a retail OS9 on its way in the post and also have a version of Norton (never used) which will work on OS9 and OSX for disk recovery/maintenance.

The other trusty-G4, I've sourced and bought an iMac G4 (the one which looks like a desk lamp) which will come in original box with all original parts and original System Disks. I've got Disk Warrior for OSX (also never used).