I am a writer. I am one of those "destitute people"--even though I have published a book that's sold 40,000 copies in three years, I make far less money than an anverage McDonald's worker.

The answer to your question is that a smartphone is cheaper than a computer, and a computer or similar device is the cost of entry into modern society. It is nearly impossible to function without one. That means when you're poor, you prioritize your smartphone sometimes above food, because the consequences of not having a smartphone are likely to be more severe for you than the consequences of skipping a meal.

When you're middle class, a smartphone is a luxury. When you're poor, it's a necessity. More and more government and social services rely on Internet forms. Jobs are increasingly applied for online. Sure, if you're lucky enough to live in the right place, you can go to the library and use their Internet to fill out your forms, and maybe set up a free email on Gmail, but without a phone, how do they contact you? And when you're poor, transportation can be expensive and extremely time consuming. If they need a new form, you can waste half the day taking the number 28 bus to the number 67 bus and transferring from there to the number 3 express that drops you off a fifteen-minute walk from the library so you can use their Internet, but good luck doing that if you're working three 20-hour-a-week jobs like many poor people do, or you have a kid to take care of, or both.