Getting back on topic, I have a few more examples of trying to rely on technology as a solution to issues, problems, etc.

The first obvious one (and it is kind of connected to the others I will mention) is the inability of folks to handle a cash payment! It is truly incredible how some (maybe quite a few folks( get flustered when one pays cash for a product, service, etc. If one pays by credit/debit card, or even check, the clerk has no issues in handling that. But try paying with cash, and a number of them get lost!

The next two have to do with my experience as a part-time Mathematics instructor. I had been doing that on and off since 1970 at various colleges and universities. I have taught Mathematics course ranging from Elementary Algebra to Linear Algebra and Differential Equations. My most recent time was at a couple of community colleges from 2007 through 2011. During that most recent time frame, it certainly became evident that students absolutely rely on technology to assist with, and solve problems. And the "tool" such students just about bet their life on was a calculator.

This first one really shows this. In the spring of 2010, I was teaching an Elementary Algebra class, and I had office yours for students to come in. One of my students did come in, and was having difficulty solving a problem. So, I started going through it with her, and it got down to computing 32 - 17. So, I asked her what that is. She says, "Is it 22?". I said, "No". She then says "Is it 9?". I said, "No.". I then said, "What is the problem?". She says "I use my calculator to do something like that"! I was shocked (she did kind of make a face as it she was embarrassed). I thought to myself "And these are our future leaders?".