The over simplified explanations of virtual memory found all over the place are accurate as far as they go. What the almost invariably leave out is a full explanation of memory usage in a modern operating system such as Unix, Linux, OS X, and even Windows. I spent nearly a semester in graduate school learning the bits parts and pieces of this and at least another semester integrating it into a coherent concept. Later as an adjunct professor I struggled to explain the concepts to undergraduate graduate students. Suffice it to say I am giving you the highly compressed, essential concepts only version.

At the application layer in a computer, ALL MEMORY IS VIRTUAL. When an application is launched it requests a given amount of address space and that address space always begins at address location 0000. So the OS and every running application have the same 0000 starting address. OS X then takes over and maps those virtual address locations to physical locations in the computer. The first addresses are going to be in wired RAM and serve as a communication and control link between OS X and the particular task. Depending on the needs of the individual application additional Virtual addresses will be mapped to:
  • RAM
  • applicaton files on the hard drive
  • data files on the hard drive
  • Application Program Interface APIs either in RAM or on the hard drive
  • common resources such as font files on the hard drive
  • Swapfiles on the hard drive (whether they are actually used or not)