for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Migrate from Mojave to ?
#62376 08/23/22 07:19 PM
OP Offline

Hi. I've been running the latest version of Mojave happily for a couple years now, but I notice that security updates and the latest Safari are not available for 10.14 so it might be time for an upgrade.

Software Update wants to take me to Monterey, but it's fairly recent, I think. Would I be better off/safer to upgrade to Big Sur? Only one app that I rely upon requires Mojave, so I'll have to launch my Mac Pro to use that, but I'm pretty sure all my other apps will run in Big Sur or Monterey.

Should I stick to the tried and tested (Big Sur) or go straight to Monterey?

Thanks.

iMac (19,1, 3.1 GHz i5, 12.7.4, 40 Gb RAM); MacBook Air (1.8 Ghz, 8 Gb RAM, 10.14.6, 256 Gb SSD) Vodafone router and Devolo Wi-Fi Extender, Canon TS8351 printer/scanner.
Re: Migrate from Mojave to ?
freelance #62377 08/23/22 07:45 PM

I had a problem with Music.app in Big Sur that forced me to revert to Catalina, but I've been happily running Monterey since shortly after it was released.

With Ventura due out in just a couple of months, Monterey is old hat already...tried and true on its own at this point, so I say "go for it."

Bear in mind that since Apple has been releasing public betas, new macOS versions are, to a large degree, tried and true at their release date.

The new Great Equalizer is the SEND button.

In Memory of Harv: Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
1 member likes this: joemikeb
artie505 #62380 08/23/22 10:15 PM
OP Offline

Thanks. I guess I'll just let Software Update take me there. Sounds like a plan for tomorrow.

iMac (19,1, 3.1 GHz i5, 12.7.4, 40 Gb RAM); MacBook Air (1.8 Ghz, 8 Gb RAM, 10.14.6, 256 Gb SSD) Vodafone router and Devolo Wi-Fi Extender, Canon TS8351 printer/scanner.
freelance #62383 08/24/22 12:37 PM