An open community 
of Macintosh users,
for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
PlantNet
#59157 07/17/21 10:45 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 1
jaybass Online OP
OP Online

Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 1
OS 10.14.6

The last I posted a query about Plantnet, it was only available for iPhones etc but not for an iMac...not as far as I could determine.

I used to email my plant photos to my son's iPad and then activate the program from there.

Today My son & I couldn't remember how we got the program to work so he googled 'PlantNet' and then bookmarked it and low and behold, it now can work directly on my iMac.

I seem to remember joemalik saying words to the effect that it would only work on iPhones etc much to his dismay.

I thought I would post this in case others who are interested in plant identification are not aware of it now being able to be used on an iMac.

I'm wondering if changing my OS has anything to do with it...? Just a thought.

jaybass


OS 10.14.6 iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2017, 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5, 24 GB RAM, 2400 MHz DDR4. SuperDuper. 1 TB Lacie HD, Noise Ninja.
Re: PlantNet
jaybass #59158 07/17/21 11:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 6
Moderator
Online
Moderator

Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 6
It is the hardware not the software that makes some iOS & iPadOS apps work on Macs with Apple silicon. PlantNet is written and developed for use on iOS devices. However, many iOS and iPadOS apps will work on Macs with Apple Silicon. On M1 Macs the apps store lists both Mac as well as iPadOS apps, see the app store listing. Apple lists iOS & iPadOS that MAY work in MacOS on the app store but it is the responsibility of developers to certify their apps to work on M1 Macs as well as iPhones, iPads, and Apple TVs. Of those I have tried roughly 3/4 have worked reasonably well, some did not work at all, and the remainder had displays that would not scale and were not really usable.




______________

"Sacred cows make the best hamburger"

- Mark Twain
Re: PlantNet
jaybass #59161 07/18/21 11:48 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 4
Online

Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 4
Thanks for that, jaybass. I just used PlantNet to identify a plant that grows in great abundance on my property. cool


Jon

macOS 11.5, iMac Retina 5K 27-inch, late 2014, 3.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 1 TB fusion drive, 16 GB RAM, Epson SureColor P600, Photoshop CC, Lightroom CC, MS Office 365

Moderated by  alternaut, dianne, dkmarsh 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4
(Release build 20200307)
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.3.24 Page Time: 0.010s Queries: 21 (0.006s) Memory: 0.7082 MB (Peak: 0.7638 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2021-07-24 20:29:36 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS