An open community 
of Macintosh users,
for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: SuperDuper Question
artie505 #56659 10/28/20 04:58 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Online

Joined: Oct 2020
Originally Posted by artie505
Originally Posted by MartyByrde
I assume you remember when Apple released V10.15.5 of Catalina. It basically broke both SuperDuper! (SD) and Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC). CCC did release a fix, but SD did not. I actually went back to V10.15.4, but then the issue was resolved in V10.15.6 (and is OK is V10.15.7).
That's interesting, because I've never had an issue with CCC.10.15.5 and otherwise, it's worked for me without fail.

When I say "broke", I meant that the backup/clone would not be able to boot up one's Mac. As I stated, Bombich software did release a fix, but then things were fixed overall in V10.15.6 of Catalina, and thus SuperDuper! (and Cartbon Copy Cloner) functioned like before V10.15.5 was released.

Re: SuperDuper Question
MartyByrde #56665 10/28/20 06:08 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 1
Online

Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by MartyByrde
Originally Posted by artie505
Originally Posted by MartyByrde
I assume you remember when Apple released V10.15.5 of Catalina. It basically broke both SuperDuper! (SD) and Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC). CCC did release a fix, but SD did not. I actually went back to V10.15.4, but then the issue was resolved in V10.15.6 (and is OK is V10.15.7).
That's interesting, because I've never had an issue with CCC.10.15.5 and otherwise, it's worked for me without fail.

When I say "broke", I meant that the backup/clone would not be able to boot up one's Mac. As I stated, Bombich software did release a fix, but then things were fixed overall in V10.15.6 of Catalina, and thus SuperDuper! (and Cartbon Copy Cloner) functioned like before V10.15.5 was released.

I very rarely boot into my clones...just assume that they work as usual, so maybe/I guess (?) I missed it.


The new Great Equalizer is the SEND button.

In Memory of Harv: Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Re: SuperDuper Question
artie505 #56668 10/28/20 08:01 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Online

Joined: Oct 2020
Originally Posted by artie505
Originally Posted by MartyByrde
Originally Posted by artie505
Originally Posted by MartyByrde
I assume you remember when Apple released V10.15.5 of Catalina. It basically broke both SuperDuper! (SD) and Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC). CCC did release a fix, but SD did not. I actually went back to V10.15.4, but then the issue was resolved in V10.15.6 (and is OK is V10.15.7).
That's interesting, because I've never had an issue with CCC.10.15.5 and otherwise, it's worked for me without fail.

When I say "broke", I meant that the backup/clone would not be able to boot up one's Mac. As I stated, Bombich software did release a fix, but then things were fixed overall in V10.15.6 of Catalina, and thus SuperDuper! (and Cartbon Copy Cloner) functioned like before V10.15.5 was released.

I very rarely boot into my clones...just assume that they work as usual, so maybe/I guess (?) I missed it.

You might want to test that every "so often". I do myself, and when I move to a new mac OS via a clean installation, I boot each machine from their respective just completed SD backup. Did you not see/install the update Bombich did shortly after OS 10.15.5 was released? I cannot "see it" from here:

https://bombich.com/download

but I do distinctly remember such a release.

It looks like there is a later one:

https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/7032/carbon-copy-cloner

PS: OK, I found the versions and dates for CCC after the release of OS 10.15.5: V5.1.18 on May 29th, and V5.1.19 on June 17th.

And here is the "announcement" of the issue with V10.15.5 from Bombich:

https://bombich.com/blog/2020/05/27...ts-bootable-backups-weve-got-you-covered

Last edited by MartyByrde; 10/28/20 08:18 PM.
Re: SuperDuper Question
MartyByrde #56674 10/29/20 12:02 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 1
Online

Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 1
I test every newly created CCC task for "bootability" immediately after creation, but after that I ride the initial success. (Also, I run QuickBoot, which gives me quick ongoing assurance that things at least look as expected.)

At least in my instance, OS X's wealth of glitches early on fostered a feeling of insecurity which resulted in my checking things multiple times, maintaining an arsenal of troubleshooting tools, running DiskWarrior every month, etc, but over the years, OS X/macOS has become so stable (Many thanks to beta testers like joemike!) - so much so that I and others have lamented having forgotten our basic troubleshooting procedures - that I no longer find insecurity to be a necessary component of my computing experience and, although with MUCH difficulty, I've been weaning myself from procedures that have morphed from wisdom to neurosis.

And my experience has been that the same can be said about many of the apps I run.

Thanks for that final link. It sets me straight.
Originally Posted by Mike
To be very clear – existing backups are unaffected, and this has no effect on CCC's ability to preserve your data, nor any effect on the integrity of the filesystems on your startup disk or your backup disk. The impact of this bug is limited to the initial creation of a bootable backup. (Emphasis added)
I remember seeing that, but it didn't affect me, because I wasn't on its turf. (What possessed you to revert your OS?)

(For someone who runs SuperDuper! you're awfully well versed in CCC's ins and outs.)


The new Great Equalizer is the SEND button.

In Memory of Harv: Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Re: SuperDuper Question
artie505 #56692 10/30/20 12:24 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Online

Joined: Oct 2020
Originally Posted by artie505
Originally Posted by Mike
To be very clear – existing backups are unaffected, and this has no effect on CCC's ability to preserve your data, nor any effect on the integrity of the filesystems on your startup disk or your backup disk. The impact of this bug is limited to the initial creation of a bootable backup. (Emphasis added)
I remember seeing that, but it didn't affect me, because I wasn't on its turf. (What possessed you to revert your OS?)

(For someone who runs SuperDuper! you're awfully well versed in CCC's ins and outs.)

The reason I went back to OS 10.15.4 was that I wanted a workable backup/clone. For whatever reason, Dave decided not to update SuperDuper! when OS 10.15.5 arrived (and caused booting issues). Maybe he was in more "direct" contact with Apple, and they might have told him the issue would be fixed in V10.15.6. Just my guess.

And thank you for the compliment about the ins and outs of CCC. Given that both SD and CCC are similar, and CCC is an excellent program (as is SD), I do like to keep up with what Bombich software is doing. However, I do not watch it that closely.

Last edited by MartyByrde; 10/30/20 12:26 AM.
Re: SuperDuper Question
MartyByrde #56693 10/30/20 12:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 1
Online

Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by MartyByrde
The reason I went back to OS 10.15.4 was that I wanted a workable backup/clone.
But unless you had for some reason created a NEW task, all your (existing) backups were bootable.

You've said that you do clean installs for upGRADES, which require that new tasks be created, but for upDates?


The new Great Equalizer is the SEND button.

In Memory of Harv: Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  alternaut, dianne, dkmarsh 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4
(Release build 20200307)
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.3.15 Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 28 (0.009s) Memory: 0.7347 MB (Peak: 0.8255 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2020-10-30 06:54:16 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS