An open community 
of Macintosh users,
for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Windows on Mac?
#55892 09/01/20 12:12 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
OP Offline

Joined: Aug 2009
I bought a hi-fi amplifier that needs a firmware update. The updater is Windows only. What is the cheapest, easiest way to get Windows on my MacBook Air?

I am presuming Boot Camp, which comes pre-installed on the Mac would be the best software option? Can I download a trial version of Windows anywhere? Any tips and trick to avoid pitfalls would be appreciated. I can read how to install Boot Camp on the Apple website, but I have no idea how to run Windows or load the updater from a flash drive or even find it on the Mac once I've uploaded the updater.

As they like to say in Blighty, I guess I'll have to suck it and see.


iMac (19,1, 3.1 GHz i5, 10.14.6, 40 Gb RAM) with Mac Pro (5,1, dual-2.4 GHz, 10.13.6, 24 Gb RAM) used as a server and to run 32-bit apps via Screen Sharing. MacBook Air (1.8 Ghz, 8 Gb RAM, 10.14.6, 256 Gb SSD) Vodafone router and Devolo Wi-Fi Extender, Canon TS8351 printer/scanner.
Re: Windows on Mac?
freelance #55895 09/01/20 02:19 PM
Moderator
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Aug 2009
Simplest and most expeditious solution......find a mate with a Windows computer and use that to do your update. The good news is that it comes with a technical assistant to run Windows for you.

Bootcamp and all the other means of getting a working version of Windows onto your computer come with far more overhead effort.


Freedom is never free....thank a Service member today.
Re: Windows on Mac?
freelance #55897 09/01/20 03:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 1
Online

Joined: Aug 2009
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by freelance
I bought a hi-fi amplifier that needs a firmware update.

I've never owned an Internet connected audio/video component or appliance, so I"m curious.

Why would an amp require a firmware update, what will change after you've run it, and what if you just ignore it?


The new Great Equalizer is the SEND button.

In Memory of Harv: Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Re: Windows on Mac?
artie505 #55902 09/01/20 06:49 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
OP Offline

Joined: Aug 2009
I bought an amp that has a HDMI input for the television sound. There is an audio glitch that is supposed to be sorted by uploading a firmware update. The amp has a RS232 cable socket on the back. This is a first for me, too.


iMac (19,1, 3.1 GHz i5, 10.14.6, 40 Gb RAM) with Mac Pro (5,1, dual-2.4 GHz, 10.13.6, 24 Gb RAM) used as a server and to run 32-bit apps via Screen Sharing. MacBook Air (1.8 Ghz, 8 Gb RAM, 10.14.6, 256 Gb SSD) Vodafone router and Devolo Wi-Fi Extender, Canon TS8351 printer/scanner.
Re: Windows on Mac?
MacManiac #55903 09/01/20 06:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2009
OP Offline

Joined: Aug 2009
Finding a "mate" was my first thought. All of the neighbors I've spoken to around here have Macs. Talk about world turned upside down!

I found a site called lizengo.co.uk that offers a home version of Windows 10 for £23. They say they do a bulk purchase and then sell off single licenses. I checked on trustpilot.com and they have good reviews, but I don't know if they're legit?

Anyway, option one is "find a friend".


iMac (19,1, 3.1 GHz i5, 10.14.6, 40 Gb RAM) with Mac Pro (5,1, dual-2.4 GHz, 10.13.6, 24 Gb RAM) used as a server and to run 32-bit apps via Screen Sharing. MacBook Air (1.8 Ghz, 8 Gb RAM, 10.14.6, 256 Gb SSD) Vodafone router and Devolo Wi-Fi Extender, Canon TS8351 printer/scanner.

Moderated by  joemikeb, MacManiac 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4
(Release build 20200307)
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.3.15 Page Time: 0.186s Queries: 25 (0.180s) Memory: 0.7182 MB (Peak: 0.7829 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2020-09-20 08:30:44 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS