for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Ad blocking question
#52795 11/02/19 09:43 AM
OP Online

My beloved, vintage AdBlock Safari extension will go belly up in favor of the new version when I upgrade to Catalina, and I"m wondering if anybody knows of another app/extension that replicates its ability to block ANY html element in a web page, e.g. the FTM masthead, which is not included in the new version.

The functionality still exists in AdBlock's Firefox version, but I'd rather endure the lost functionality than deal with Firefox.

The new Great Equalizer is the SEND button.

In Memory of Harv: Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Re: Ad blocking question
artie505 #52796 11/02/19 10:27 AM

I have no experience with this, but take a look: 1Blocker

Jon

macOS 11.7.10, iMac Retina 5K 27-inch, late 2014, 3.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 1 TB fusion drive, 16 GB RAM, Epson SureColor P600, Photoshop CC, Lightroom CC, MS Office 365
jchuzi #52799 11/02/19 02:34 PM

I used 1 Blocker until recently and it worked for me although I don't know if it would meet your demanding requirements. On a recommendation I switched to Wipr and it has served me well, but my preference is more along the set it and forget it mode.

If we knew what it was we were doing, it wouldn't be called research, would it?

— Albert Einstein
jchuzi #52806 11/03/19 08:57 AM
OP Online

Thanks, Jon.

I took a look, and 1Blocker doesn't offer the functionality I'm looking for.

In Memory of Harv: Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
joemikeb #52807 11/03/19 09:14 AM
OP Online

Thanks for the suggestion, but Wipr specifically doesn't offer the functionality I'm looking for.

Originally Posted By: Wipr FAQ
• Will You Add a Feature That Lets Me Add Custom Filters/Block Page Elements?

No — when I say Wipr has no configuration, I mean it smile