for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Migration Assistant
#45233 06/17/17 06:04 PM
OP Offline

I'm not a new user but I've never done this before.

I've decided to transfer just certain files to my new MBP from my old one. I tried to use Migration Assistant but found out I need to be connected either to a network (which sounds complicated when I read about it), a firewire or usb cable or an ethernet cable for which I have no port on my new MBP nor an adapter.

If setting up a network isn't as complicated as I thought, I would like instructions. Otherwise, I guess I need to buy a firewire adapter for the HDMI cable I have which doesn't fit my computer for some reason. I do have an adapter for one end but not the other. I use it on my TV. I hope it will work with an adapter on both ends. I have a C&E 219312 HDMI Cable Category 2 (Full 1080P Capable). I assumed all HDMI ends were the same like USB but I guess not.

MacBook Pro - M2, Ventura 13.6
Safari Tech Prev 17.0
Safari 16.6
Firefox 116.0.2
iPhone 7 Version 15.8

Re: Migration Assistant
plantsower #45235 06/17/17 07:19 PM

I don't know if this applies to your situation, but I migrated from my old Mac Pro to my present iMac using a Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter For some reason, I couldn't get ethernet to work (and the same happened a few years ago when I tried it with a friend's computers).

Jon

macOS 11.7.10, iMac Retina 5K 27-inch, late 2014, 3.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 1 TB fusion drive, 16 GB RAM, Epson SureColor P600, Photoshop CC, Lightroom CC, MS Office 365
jchuzi #45236 06/17/17 08:12 PM
OP Offline

I guess I'll have to look into that, thanks.

Originally Posted By: jchuzi