An open community 
of Macintosh users,
for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Topic Options
#38050 - 12/30/15 06:20 PM Auto-save grief in Pages
Bob_00001 Offline


Registered: 01/03/10
This is strange. I updated to Pages 5.6.1 a few months ago, and as far as I can remember, whenever I would close a document after making changes, I would get the usual "Do you want to save your changes" dialog. Now, I've noticed that Pages is saving my document whenever I close it without asking me. I thought maybe there is some preference option to autosave, but I can't find any. So, maybe I just have a bad memory and I'm confusing the new version of Pages with the old one. But either way, having worked with software for several decades where it always asks if you want to save, I find this to be yet another one of Apple's bad moves in making software less useable by removing options.

This created a problem for me recently. I opened a document that I'd been working on, deleted several sections and started to rewrite them. In the end, I decided that I didn't want to save the changes, and simply closed the document, expecting to get the save dialog, to which I would reply with "Don't Save". Nothing came up, and when I reopened the document, all the unwanted changes had been saved. So, I had to go to a backup in order to fix the mess.

The weird thing is that there doesn't appear to be any simple way in Pages to revert to the original document, if you don't want to save your changes. Some software has a Revert item in the file menu, but not Pages.
_________________________
MacBook Pro 15" (2015)
OSX 10.10.5

Top
#38055 - 12/31/15 04:30 AM Re: Auto-save grief in Pages [Re: Bob_00001]
dkmarsh Offline

Moderator

Registered: 08/04/09

Quote:
Some software has a Revert item in the file menu, but not Pages.

I'm running Pages 5.6 in OS X 10.10.5, and my File menu has a Revert To item with a submenu containing a single Browse All Versions… item, which when selected invokes a Time Machine-like interface containing the autosaved iterations.

If you prefer (as I do) to be prompted to keep or discard changes when closing documents, go to System Preferences -> General and tick the Ask to keep changes when closing documents checkbox.
_________________________

dkmarsh • member, FineTunedMac Co-op Board of Directors

Top
#38072 - 12/31/15 02:44 PM Re: Auto-save grief in Pages [Re: dkmarsh]
Bob_00001 Offline


Registered: 01/03/10
Originally Posted By: dkmarsh

Quote:
Some software has a Revert item in the file menu, but not Pages.

I'm running Pages 5.6 in OS X 10.10.5, and my File menu has a Revert To item with a submenu containing a single Browse All Versions… item, which when selected invokes a Time Machine-like interface containing the autosaved iterations.

Hmm, yeah. Somehow I missed that. I'll blame it on my cold medications. Brain not working too well at the moment.

Originally Posted By: dkmarsh

If you prefer (as I do) to be prompted to keep or discard changes when closing documents, go to System Preferences -> General and tick the Ask to keep changes when closing documents checkbox.


Thanks. I missed that one. I suspect I had this ticked on my old Macbook Pro but somehow it got unticked on my new computer. That would explain everything.
_________________________
MacBook Pro 15" (2015)
OSX 10.10.5

Top
#38086 - 01/02/16 04:13 AM Re: Auto-save grief in Pages [Re: Bob_00001]
Pendragon Offline


Registered: 08/04/09
Loc: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Bob,

If it helps, you are not alone re overlooking that Preference setting. As for moi, I do not blame my meds, but rather, 'tis my wife who changes things in the night...
_________________________
Harv
27" i7 iMac (10.13.6), iPhone Xs Max (12.1)

Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire

Top
#38087 - 01/02/16 04:16 AM Re: Auto-save grief in Pages [Re: Pendragon]
artie505 Online


Registered: 08/04/09
Just so she sticks to changing OS X rather than your meds! tongue


Edited by artie505 (01/02/16 04:17 AM)
Edit Reason: Got it right
_________________________
The new Great Equalizer is the SEND button.

Top
#38094 - 01/02/16 12:08 PM Re: Auto-save grief in Pages [Re: dkmarsh]
ryck Offline


Registered: 08/04/09
Loc: Okanagan Valley
Originally Posted By: dkmarsh

I'm running Pages 5.6 in OS X 10.10.5, and my File menu has a Revert To item with a submenu containing a single Browse All Versions… item, which when selected invokes a Time Machine-like interface containing the autosaved iterations.

I have Pages 3.0.3 (OS 10.8.5) and the function is listed but greyed out. I ran a few tests and couldn't get the software to recognize there were other saved versions.

Pages has a Preference called "Backup previous version when saving" but checking that box didn't help.

I wonder why the function would be listed if it wasn't actually slated to work until a later version.


Edited by ryck (01/02/16 12:15 PM)
_________________________
ryck

iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2017), 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5, 8GB RAM, 2400 MHz DDR4
OS High Sierra 10.13.6
Canon MX712 Printer
Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner
Time Machine on 320GB OWC Mercury OTG Pro
Super Duper on 500GB OWC Mercury OTG Pro

Top
#38112 - 01/03/16 12:37 AM Re: Auto-save grief in Pages [Re: ryck]
Bob_00001 Offline


Registered: 01/03/10
I suspect that it may not recognize versions that you saved yourself. Pages is probably keeping its own backups after you select the option. You may have to do multiple open-edit-close operations to generate some backups.
_________________________
MacBook Pro 15" (2015)
OSX 10.10.5

Top
#38115 - 01/03/16 06:02 AM Re: Auto-save grief in Pages [Re: Bob_00001]
ryck Offline


Registered: 08/04/09
Loc: Okanagan Valley
Originally Posted By: Bob_00001
I suspect that it may not recognize versions that you saved yourself. Pages is probably keeping its own backups after you select the option.

Thanks. I'll keep an eye out and see what happens with normal open/edit/close actions. When I said checking the "Backup previous version when saving" didn't help, I only meant it didn't allow me to seek a backup from "Revert to Saved" under File.

It did make backups when I saved after changes, but they were all separate documents in the saved folder - not quite Time Machine-like behaviour. I have a habit of saving constantly, so the saved folder could get a bit bulky.


Edited by ryck (01/03/16 06:03 AM)
_________________________
ryck

iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2017), 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5, 8GB RAM, 2400 MHz DDR4
OS High Sierra 10.13.6
Canon MX712 Printer
Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner
Time Machine on 320GB OWC Mercury OTG Pro
Super Duper on 500GB OWC Mercury OTG Pro

Top
#38137 - 01/04/16 12:07 PM Re: Auto-save grief in Pages [Re: Bob_00001]
Ira L Offline


Registered: 08/13/09
Loc: California
Originally Posted By: Bob_00001
I suspect that it may not recognize versions that you saved yourself. Pages is probably keeping its own backups after you select the option. You may have to do multiple open-edit-close operations to generate some backups.


Nope, it does not work that way. I save as I go and also use Pages' autosave. If you choose "Revert to…" from the File menu, you see 'em all.

And I'm not sure what Saved folder you're looking at, but the Revert to… shows me a Time Machine-like scenario. The current page(s) show up on the left of the screen and the stacked versions a la TM show up on the right.
_________________________
On a Mac since 1984.
Currently: 27" iMacs, Macbook Air, macOS 10.14.x,; iPhones, iPods and iPads galore!

Top
#38138 - 01/04/16 12:53 PM Re: Auto-save grief in Pages [Re: Ira L]
joemikeb Offline
Moderator

Registered: 08/04/09
Loc: Fort Worth, Texas
Does this Apple Stackexchange article answer your question?
_________________________
joemikeb • moderator

Top

Moderator:  alternaut, dianne, dkmarsh