for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Roaming Mac Network
#35836 08/31/15 09:55 PM
OP Offline

I've struggled with setting up my home network for months. Instead of trouble-shooting a continuous loop of issues, I think maybe the better approach by now is just to ask you guys how you would set up a network in my position and start again from scratch. Here goes:

I'm an attorney by training, but at the moment I'm on a sabbatical of sorts, traveling around the US and Canada in an RV. I still do "freelance" work for various clients, so I need a network that is fairly reliable in a number of circumstances.

Generally, I get my internet connection either through (1) public wi-fi available in various RV parks (which is frequently a terrible, terrible connection) or (2) through a Verizon JetPack wi-fi hotspot tied to a high volume (but still limited) data plan.

Inside the RV I need a network that will connect the following devices: MacBook Pro laptop, iPhone, iPad, Apple TV/Roku stick (not at the same time), and a printer with a 2.4GHz wireless antenna (though the printer's wireless connectivity is trivial compared to the rest).

I brought with me the following wireless gizmos from my house: 1 AirPort Time Capsule 2TB (circa late 2013), 2 AirPort Express units (more recent than the "bad batch" of models from 2012 or so, but older than the newly upgraded units), an Apple TV unit and an old D-Link router that may be totally useless.