Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Back up advice please
#30244 06/06/14 02:48 AM
Kate Offline OP
OP Offline

MacBook Pro Retina running Mavericks 10.9.3

I am looking for reliable back up software and considering Apple Capsule.

I am the only mac user in our house, while five other people use Windows, so am wondering if I am inviting problems.

We currently use Apple Airport Extreme as a router and it has been problem free, but back up is what I am after.
Is Apple capsule the way to go or, if not, can anyone please recommend reliable, independent backup, preferably bootable ,software.
Kate

Last edited by Kate; 06/06/14 02:49 AM.
Re: Back up advice please
Kate #30245 06/06/14 03:01 AM

I've been using SuperDuper for a few years now and it works well. I back up to a separate drive and, as well as having it as my "in case the worst happens" backup, I also use it to boot from when using maintenance software.

Last edited by ryck; 06/06/14 03:01 AM.

ryck

"What Were Once Vices Are Now Habits" The Doobie Brothers

iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020), 3.8 GHz 8 Core Intel Core i7, 8GB RAM, 2667 MHz DDR4
OS Ventura 13.6.3
Canon Pixma TR 8520 Printer
Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner c/w VueScan software
TM on 1TB LaCie USB-C
ryck #30246 06/06/14 09:55 AM

I second Ryck's endorsement of SuperDuper. I have four internal drives but you can easily add external drives. One drive is dedicated as a SuperDuper clone, another is devoted to Time Machine, and a third is used for manual backups of files. The fourth, of course, is my boot drive. I have had occasion to use all three backups, depending on the situation. So, I'm glad to have redundancy.

I can also recommend Carbon Copy Cloner although I have not used it in a long time.

Jon

macOS 11.7.10, iMac Retina 5K 27-inch, late 2014, 3.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 1 TB fusion drive, 16 GB RAM, Epson SureColor P600, Photoshop CC, Lightroom CC, MS Office 365
Kate #30247 06/06/14 03:34 PM