for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Donating Old G3 PowerBook, Need OS
#27824 01/03/14 12:23 PM
OP Offline

I have an old G3 Lombard Power Book, 10.3.9, (Specs) that is in excellent condition, though the display has a short-lived red tint during startup. Aside from that, it works as well as it ever did.

Rather than having it sit idle, I would like to donate it to a senior citizen home or such.

But before sending it along, I wish to erase the drive. But alas, the Install CDs are lost to the ages and I don’t want to purchase same.

Ergo, have you suggestions re the best way to erase and then reinstall the OS? (I wonder if I took it an Apple store they would be charitable enough to do that for me.)

Last edited by cyn; 01/03/14 12:33 PM. Reason: Topic moved from the Lounge to the "Mac OS X 10.0 - 10.5.x" forum.

Harv
27" i7 iMac (10.13.6), iPhone Xs Max (12.1)

Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Re: Donating Old G3 PowerBook, Need OS
Pendragon #27830 01/04/14 08:12 AM

Is it absolutely necessary to wipe the drive, or would simply erasing everything that's not part of OS X and doing a secure overwrite of free space suffice?

My next best suggestion is that you find a generous pack-rat.

Edit: Maybe defrag first?

Last edited by artie505; 01/04/14 10:45 AM.

The new Great Equalizer is the SEND button.

In Memory of Harv: Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
artie505 #27833 01/04/14 04:16 PM
OP Offline

Artie,

While it's not absolutely imperative that I erase first, I do prefer that. I have an attorney son in law who did some work on that machine, and while I think all pertinant files have been securely deleted, it is possible there are files that escaped me.