Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Burning a Music CD
#27071 10/15/13 04:01 PM
deniro Offline OP
OP Offline

I'd like to burn a music CD. For some reason, I've never done it before.

I use iTunes 7.6.2 and all my music has been ripped from CDs at AAC 128. I have Burn, but I've never used it.

1) What kind of CD should I use? CD-R or CD-W? Any particular brand?

2) Can I burn AAC files to a blank CD or do I need to convert them to mp3? Is there a loss in sound quality in converting and then burning?

3) I have Burn. Is that adequate for my needs?

4) Are there any web sites you like that talk about these matters in depth?

5) How many songs can I fit on a blank CD? Will Burn tell me this?

Re: Burning a Music CD
deniro #27072 10/15/13 06:42 PM

1. I use CD-R discs. The difference between CD-R and CD-RW is that you can erase a CD-RW and start over.

2. A music CD does not contain "files" at all. It is actually just a straight stream of 16-bit, 44kHz sound samples with a primitive index that says where each song starts. You do not need to convert AAC to MP3; in fact, if you do, you will degrade the quality of the audio CD. When you burn an audi CD, whatever kind of file you're recording is uncompressed and written out as a simple stream of bytes.

3. Burn will do it. So will iTunes; there's no reason to go outside of iTunes.

4. I don't use any Web sites, but burning a music CD is pretty simple.

5. You can burn as many songs as you like. With a standard audio CD, the limitation is in total length of the music, not in number of songs; a CD is limited to about 70 minutes (total, including gaps between songs).

Photo gallery, all about me, and more: www.xeromag.com/franklin.html
deniro #27077 10/16/13 01:50 AM