for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Encrypting SD cards/information
#26299 07/24/13 11:33 AM
OP Offline

I am working on a project where I will use a video camera to record HIPPA medical information for storage in medical records. I need a means to encrypt the the cards which will allow operation in both the camera and then transfer to iMac or Airbook, or even better, both.

So far, I have not found anything. Anyone have any suggestions? (BTW, my background is Healthcare, NOT IT).

Thanks,

Wayne

Re: Encrypting SD cards/information
wayne hodges #26364 08/04/13 07:46 PM

Since video cameras do not have general purpose processors or use commonly available operating systems necessary for running applications. Their "software" is actually "firmware" that is burned onto a memory chip in the camera. So the first "kicker" is finding encryption software/firmware that will run on your video camera. I would start by contacting the manufacturer of the camera you will be using to see what, if anything, they have to offer or what they might charge for developing a custom encryption function for you.

Alternatively, you might use the camera built into a Mac computer or an iPad to capture the image. At that point there are any number of commercial and/or open source applications you could use to encrypt the data, which could then be copied onto an SD card or sent electronically to the data storage host. I have found my iPad to be very useful for "scanning" (photographing) text data images to store as files. There are also apps that will convert the "scanned" image into a searchable text format that would probably be very useful in your application.

If we knew what it was we were doing, it wouldn't be called research, would it?

— Albert Einstein
Re: Encrypting SD cards/information
wayne hodges #26484 08/20/13 10:45 PM