An open community 
of Macintosh users,
for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Using exFAT for Windows 7 and Boot Camp?
#15878 06/04/11 05:15 AM
OP Offline

I just purchased a new 21.5" iMac and would like to install Windows 7 on a 500GB Boot Camp partition. I would like to use exFAT as the file system on this partition given it's advantages, but I'm unclear whether Boot Camp Assistant will allow me to do this.

The latest Snow Leopard has added support for formatting partitions in exFAT with Disk Utility. Will Boot Camp Assistant force me to format in NTFS, or can I just install into an exFAT partition without formatting first?

I've never used Boot Camp Assistant before and I'm a little uncertain about how this will work out.

Anyone out there done a Windows 7 install using exFAT before?

Re: Using exFAT for Windows 7 and Boot Camp?
Rick Deckard #15879 06/04/11 08:57 AM

Rick,

This LINK may help answer most of your questions.....as I read the comments that followed, it looks to me like your answer will be to use exFAT for your 500gb Bootcamp partition.

FWIW, my personal experience is with WinXPsp3 on a FAT32 32gb partition.

Freedom is never free....thank a Service member today.
Rick Deckard #15898 06/07/11 12:30 AM

My understanding is that you can do this, if you want to. I'm not really quite sure why you'd want to, though. What advantages do you see over using NTFS?

Photo gallery, all about me, and more: www.xeromag.com/franklin.html
tacit #16715 07/27/11 11:27 AM
OP Offline

Quote:
What advantages do you see over using NTFS?

Mainly that I can write to the volume while using OS X, since NTFS is not writeable from OS X without using a driver like MacFUSE/NTFS-3G (free, but tricky to install?) or Paragon NTFS ($19.95).