FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
New to mac/defragging
#115 08/05/09 01:17 PM
OP Offline

Hello
I'm completely new to using Macs - more used to Windows - what's the Mac equivalent of defragging my HD and how do I do this?
Thanks in advance for your help smile

Re: New to mac/defragging
badartdog #116 08/05/09 01:31 PM

Hello badartdog and welcome to FineTunedMac,

This was one of the first questions I asked when I first started using a Mac smile

Firstly, using the Mac OS, we would call it 'repairing permissions'. There is a built-in application to do this called 'Disk Utility' which you can find here ...

'Go' (in your Finder window/main desktop) -> 'Utilities' -> 'Disk Utility'

When you have your 'Disk Utility' application open... select the hard drive icon at the top left of the left hand window. You can then click 'Verify Disk Permissions' followed by 'Repair Disk Permissions'. This may take a while so be patient.

I have also found this application to be very good and it's free! grin

I hope this was of some help to you...

Ness
nessuk #124 08/05/09 02:06 PM

Originally Posted By: nessuk
Firstly, using the Mac OS, we would call it 'repairing permissions'. There is a built-in application to do this called 'Disk Utility' which you can find here ...

Repairing permissions is in no way the same thing as defragmenting a drive. The repair permissions function in Disk Utility does exactly that. It resets the ownership and permissions of the OS X Systems files and those applications that have installed Reciept packages with a bill of materials (BOM) in /Library/Receipts.