for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Can't use cell data on iPhone 7
#64927 11/12/23 09:16 PM
OP Offline

For some reason my iphone is not recognizing that I have a cell data subscription. I called my cell carrier and I called Apple. No one had an answer. The carrier sent me a new sim card which did nothing. My phone is too old for an e-sim.

Both companies went through several different ways to possibly fix it but nothing worked and they are all stumped and blaming each other. I have no need to be paying for cell data if I can't use it. The last resort was to reset my phone back to factory settings. I would like to try that last. They did send me instructions on how to back up my info though that was deleted today along with the other emails. There is too much for free iCloud space but maybe iTunes backup will work. I"m not sure about how that would work as it's now called Music and I don't even know if that app can do this.

Any ideas? I can't list all the things we tried so maybe there is something out there that will work that they don't know about? Wouldn't surprise me.

Apple said I would have to call my carrier to see if I can update the APN through them. The carrier said iPhones do use APNs. What? Spent about 4 hours back and forth and nothing was accomplished.

MacBook Pro - M2, Ventura 13.6
Safari Tech Prev 17.0
Safari 16.6
Firefox 116.0.2
iPhone 7 Version 15.8

Re: Can't use cell data on iPhone 7
plantsower #64934 11/13/23 05:40 PM

This Apple Support article tells you how to back up your iPhone to your computer. After you do this you can reset and restore your iPhone. Apple says all of your personal settings may not get backed up; then again, maybe they will but at least you should have all of your data, apps, etc.

On a Mac since 1984.
Currently: 24" M1 iMac, M2 Pro Mac mini with 27" BenQ monitor, M2 Macbook Air, MacOS 14.x; iPhones, iPods (yes, still) and iPads.