FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Autofill
artie505 #61077 03/07/22 02:10 AM

Originally Posted by artie505
You'll probably know if it's fact or fiction, but I've read that when Bell Labs/AT&T first designed the phone systems still in use in much of the world, they specified three strand wire - one strand more than was/still is, actually, necessary for telephony - because they anticipated the eventual need for an additional strand.

The government has never been blessed with such foresight. frown

True! In a previous career I worked as a central office foreman for GTE. The extra strand in cables was often used when there were problems on either of the other two in the triad. I was in an old step-by-step office with mechanical switching and every phone connected by what started out as a single unique physical copper connection. That is how it started out, not what I found when I took the job. I saw copper wire junction boxes with more patches and jumpers than in the original cables after years of patching and field engineering. I was blessed by having a crew of well seasoned old hands that somehow managed to catch things together, even if it meant running a single jumper wire to another junction box blocks or even miles away, most (all?) of them are long retired and few of their replacements even know how to make reliable copper wire connections.

By-the-way, that wire system "still in use in the rest of the world" would be totally overwhelmed in the communications environment of today's "western" world. You may still have a copper pair running to your house, but unless you are in a deep rural area, that old step-by-step environment was long ago replaced by by a computer and fiber optic to neighborhood switching centers. Parts are no longer available for the old mechanical switches and copper is too expensive for new service connections.