for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Tips, please, on buying an external SATA enclosure
#49290 07/01/18 04:03 PM
OP Offline

While I have been buying external enclosures for about two years, I really don’t know what I’m doing; blithely bumbling along thinking (hoping) there isn’t much difference amongst enclosures- so any choice is okay.

But now, I note that some enclosures support both SSD and HDs, some have a ribbed aluminum heat sync, an on/off switch, the chip set can vary, and certainly other features of which my ignorance abounds…

FWIW: Presently, my old machines are maxed out at USB 2, but I suspect all future machines will be some variant of USB 3.

In selecting a new enclosure, should I choose one for SSDs, HDs, or a hybrid?

If I use an SSD, what chip set should I look for?

Have you a favorite model or manufacture?

And of course, any other pearls of wisdom you care to pass along….

Harv
27" i7 iMac (10.13.6), iPhone Xs Max (12.1)

Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Re: Tips, please, on buying an external SATA enclosure
Pendragon #49292 07/01/18 04:59 PM

This is just the most recent thread discussing "external enclosures".
I have absolutely no idea of why such should be necessary. Every computer or back-up drive I have ever had is fully self-contained right out of the box. What is the point/purpose of an "external enclosure"?

grelber #49293 07/01/18 05:09 PM

I don't know what Harv's got in mind, but as has always been the case with me, many of us buy enclosures to use with HDDs/SSDs we already own.

We have leftovers from previously owned or upgraded machines, and, too, enclosures can't always be found with the particular drives we we prefer.

Leftovers, though, are a dying breed now that SSDs are soldered to logic boards and can't be removed.

The new Great Equalizer is the SEND button.