FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
1st test Message: iphone to Desktop not working
#42561 11/05/16 09:03 PM
kevs Offline OP
OP Offline

I've been using messages on my iphone for 2 years now. Today, I just did my first test to see if messages on desktop would work, and it does not.

Messages on my desktop does have my phone number and email in the list, in preferences ok, all there fine, but it's only showing very old messages in the left hand pane from 2015. I've opened/ quit, relaunched several times. Wont get up to date/ speed.

Re: 1st test Message: iphone to Desktop not working
kevs #42564 11/05/16 11:03 PM

SMS (Messaging) is a very simple messaging system originally designed for mobil phone devices. Messages are not the same as an IMAP mail account if anything they are somewhat more analogous to a POP email account. SMS is a broadcast system and all devices that have the given message account active and are turned on when a text is sent will receive and store it locally. If all of the devices with the same account ID, phone number, etc are turned on when the message is sent the sender will get a return notice the message failed and that is the end of it. NEW messages will show up on all devices that have active accounts for the destination address, email address, cell phone number, AOL account address, etc. Those old message you are seeing were received while the messaging account was still active on your desktop and are resident in a database on your hard drive and nowhere else until you delete them from your hard drive. Of course there are complications from the various messaging systems Apple has melded into Messages, but basically the principal is still the same.