Home
Posted By: artie505 "Numbers" question - 10/27/22 07:27 PM
[rant]I understand their necessity, but I HATE design copyrights! I've got no Windows experience, so I've got no feel for how it differs from macOS, but I recently switched from Excel to Numbers, and I'm almost overwhelmed by the differences.[/rant]

Excel has a pref that enabled me to select the direction in which my cursor moves when I hit "return" after entering data in a cell...my preference being to the cell to the right. Numbers defaults to the cell below, and if there's a way to change it, I've had zero luck finding it.

Anybody?

Thanks!
Posted By: Gregg Re: "Numbers" question - 10/28/22 12:48 PM
Well, I don't use Numbers. But, in Excel, the right arrow key will move the focus to the right.
Posted By: artie505 Re: "Numbers" question - 10/28/22 01:07 PM
Excel offers pref options, and as you just said, reacts to the arrow keys too, but while Numbers also reacts to the arrows, "return" as "move cursor right" works better for me, and I'd like it to be able to set it as my default, but...
Posted By: Ira L Re: "Numbers" question - 10/28/22 05:20 PM
The option may not exist, but Tab will move you to the next cell. On a standard keyboard this move can be done with the left little finger, as opposed to the right little finger for Return. This move also keeps your brain energized, like brushing your teeth with your opposite hand. wink
Posted By: joemikeb Re: "Numbers" question - 10/28/22 08:05 PM
For what it is worth I just checked MacPilot 14, that has literally thousands of hidden macOS preference settings and the only hidden Numbers preferences it offers are:
  • Do not create TOC for Excel documents
  • Save compression level
  • Use human-readable XML file format

So I think you are out of luck.
Posted By: artie505 Re: "Numbers" question - 10/29/22 08:47 AM
Thanks, all, for the input.