Home
There are so many OS X utility to take care of Mac health and optimize the Mac drive. But I found 1 tool for 1 task only. Its pathetic and expensive too.

I want a pack or bundle of Mac applications which can optimize my Mac and easy to use as well.

Please excuse mackeeper with useless tools
Posted By: ryck Re: Mac OS X utility to Care and optimiz Mac - 04/05/12 08:59 AM
I'm not an expert and so I write from the experience of a user who just needs stuff to work as advertised. Others at this site can provide more technical views for you.

I have used DiskWarrior since it was released several years ago and recommend it highly. DW has never failed to fix a damaged directory and, on more than one occasion, it has recovered drives that I thought for sure were doomed. It is very simple to use. You can find a review for DiskWarrior here .

I have also owned TechTool but found that my needs were taken care of by Disk Warrior, with the exception of defragmentation. However, I also found that defragmentation didn't seem to be an issue and stopped doing it a few years ago. With the upgrade to Pro 6 I decided to go through a defrag but can't say it made any difference. TechTool has an eDrive feature that I've never used as I repair from a backup drive. You can find a review for TechTool here .

MacKeeper? I've never heard anything except bad stories about that product.
Posted By: jchuzi Re: Mac OS X utility to Care and optimiz Mac - 04/05/12 09:33 AM
My experience with Disk Warrior and TechTool Pro has been the same as Ryck's. While I have never used Drive Genius, I have read nothing but good comments about it. OnyX is free and does a variety of tasks. If you don't mind spending some money, Cocktail does many things that OnyX does not (although they overlap somewhat).
The guys above are smack on -- my very words. 'Tis wise and solid counsel me thinks.