Home
Posted By: joemikeb A New Reason To Use iCloud+ ‼️ - 10/04/21 02:20 PM
Almost since its inception iCloud has evoked a Love/Hate response from users. Either you like it and embrace it an all its features or it is a complete anathema with few in the middle. Admittedly I am among former.

That said I was looking to see if there is anything new in Monterey, I might have missed and came across the mention of a new iCloud+ feature that wasn't even mentioned in the keynote — custom Email DOMAINS. The ability to create multiple email domains that you can use on-line or in Mail on macOS, iOS, and iPadOS that can be used for sending and receiving email, text messages, or FaceTime calls. If your iCloud+ account is a family account, anyone in the family can use the same custom domain. It is in beta at this point and takes several steps to set up. I am just beginning to test it out, but if you are interested you can find full instructions here.
After a further look, this is not quit as cool as I thought. You must have your Domain name registered, and then iCloud+ will act as the SMTP and IMAP server for up to three email addresses per person on a family account. This saves the cost of a web hosting site but you still have to pay for domain registration. As site hosting prices keep climbing, this could be an attractive alternative for individuals, families, and micro businesses. To satisfy my curiosity I will continue to explore this feature.
Posted By: Ira L Re: A New Reason To Use iCloud+ ‼️ - 10/04/21 05:04 PM
I pay monthly for additional iCloud storage and I recently received an e-mail from Apple saying "You've been upgraded to iCloud+ for free".

The e-mail lists many of the features, including "Hide My Email" which "lets you create unique, random email addresses that forward to your inbox". I don't know if by default that means custom email domains, but it sounds comparable.