Home
Posted By: ph8tel Testing A and PTR records on a Mac - 02/09/11 09:14 PM
Hello all,

I am brand new to Mac's and am wondering if anyone knows how to test the A and PTR records from the command line on a Mac, or where I might be able to find the commands. So far google has failed me.

Cheers,
ph8
Posted By: Ira L Re: Testing A and PTR records on a Mac - 02/09/11 10:46 PM
With a variation on "If you have to ask how much, you can't afford it", let me ask what you mean by the "A and PTR records". I've been on Macs for quite awhile and never heard that terminology.

Perhaps it has meaning on a PC system, but uses different verbiage on a Mac?
Posted By: David Re: Testing A and PTR records on a Mac - 02/10/11 04:26 AM
In general, the dig(1) command will return whatever query types you want, or all types.

What, specifically, are you trying to do? Do you have a DNS server running on your own Mac that you are trying to test? Are you testing the configuration of a remote DNS server?
Posted By: Virtual1 Re: Testing A and PTR records on a Mac - 02/10/11 04:28 PM
for example, "dig google.com any" in terminal returns all nameserver records, including A, but I see it doesn't seem to indicate ptr. for that you can do "dig google.com ptr"

you can also use @nameserver to query a nameserver besides your system default / cached
Posted By: tacit Re: Testing A and PTR records on a Mac - 02/10/11 08:12 PM
Originally Posted By: Ira L
With a variation on "If you have to ask how much, you can't afford it", let me ask what you mean by the "A and PTR records". I've been on Macs for quite awhile and never heard that terminology.

A and PTR records aren't Mac or PC things; they are Web and Internet domain name record things.