Home
Posted By: Ginger Re: MacBook Pro (Mac OS X Lion v10.7.2) - 12/03/11 04:04 PM
Hi!
I am a newbie.
I just purchased a MacBook Pro 2.4GHz 3 weeks ago, pre-loaded with Mac OS X v10.7.2 Can anyone here help me out? My problem is that I don't seem to be able to open my desktop folders and Macintosh HD by double-clicking as I always did with Mac OS Tiger. I have to resort to using keyboard shortcut Command O to open my folders.
Posted By: Ira L Re: MacBook Pro (Mac OS X Lion v10.7.2) - 12/03/11 04:24 PM
Go to System Preferences and check your settings for the input device (Trackpad?). It may be set to a level that is not responsive enough for you.
Posted By: Ginger Re: MacBook Pro (Mac OS X Lion v10.7.2) - 12/03/11 05:58 PM
Thanks Ira L.
I did check the Trackpad settings over and over but to no avail.
This is what I found under Finder Help:

In the Finder
If the item is on the desktop or in a Finder window, double-click it.
If the item is in the Dock, or in a Finder window sidebar or toolbar, single-click it.

The single-click works just fine for items in the Dock, except for the double-click of desktop folders and folders within folders which are not responding.
I remember the double-click was responding when I first got the MacBook Pro
till 2 days ago.
Posted By: alternaut Re: MacBook Pro (Mac OS X Lion v10.7.2) - 12/03/11 06:23 PM
I wonder if a single click on a folder or file icon registers by selecting that item. If so, did you by any chance check the double-click interval settings of the trackpad (Apple menu/System Preferences/Hardware/Trackpad*)? If not, see if changing that setting improves things.

*) Since I do not use Lion (where it may be different), I provided the path as in older Mac OS X versions.
Posted By: macnerd10 Re: MacBook Pro (Mac OS X Lion v10.7.2) - 12/03/11 08:44 PM