for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
NoSleep has a doppelganger?
#37113 11/10/15 08:35 PM
OP Online

I've been running NoSleep for a couple of years to prevent my deuced Mac(hina) from sleeping when its lid is closed on adapter power (to remedy a shortcoming in iTunes 8).

A few days ago I noticed that my dM was going to sleep when its lid was closed despite my pref to the contrary.

I tried shutting down, zapping PRAM, repairing permissions, clearing caches, and running DiskWarrior (No test user A/C; it's a system pref pane.)...all to no avail.

I then trashed the app and all its appurtenances, restarted, and reinstalled, again to no avail.

At that point it occurred to me that since my issue was no longer present in iTunes 11 I no longer needed NoSleep and trashed it for good.

And since it's been gone and I've been running under normal circumstances I've found that my dM now doesn't go to sleep when its lid is closed, as if NS were still installed and working properly.

Huh? confused

I'm not particularly unhappy about the current state of affairs, because there are times when I'd like my dM to be awake when its lid is closed, and I can sleep it manually, so I've got the best of both worlds.

I'm mostly curious about how System Preferences and NoSleep could have reversed roles as they seem to have done?

Any thoughts about what has happened?

Thanks.

The new Great Equalizer is the SEND button.

In Memory of Harv: Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Re: NoSleep has a doppelganger?
artie505 #37114 11/10/15 08:43 PM

What are our settings in System Preferences > Energy Saver?

If we knew what it was we were doing, it wouldn't be called research, would it?

— Albert Einstein
joemikeb #37115 11/10/15 09:44 PM
OP Online

Here ya go!