FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
some keys on macbook pro unibody 2011 don't work
#33500 03/20/15 07:29 PM
OP Offline

hello all, i am new to this forum and got a strange problem:
some keys (the h, j, k, l keys) on my macbook pro 17inch 2011 unibody only work sometimes, never had this before... no liquid was spilled and i always keep my mac very very clean - i am a graphic designer for 25 years - so no obvious reason for this. did already remove one of the keys but all is clean, did blow it out with an airspray but no effect - and the strange thing is they sometimes work and sometimes not… any idea of what the problem might be? it is so annoying...

Re: some keys on macbook pro unibody 2011 don't work
andreassimon #33524 03/23/15 03:28 PM

sounds like it's just plain gone bad

I work for the Department of Redundancy Department
andreassimon #33530 03/23/15 11:52 PM

A google search will turn up lots of third party articles on cleaning a MacBook or MacBook Pro keyboard but the official word from Apple on cleaning a keyboard is found here. Unfortunately that advice sounds unlikely to "fix" your problem. Your next step would be to take your MacBook Pro to the Genius Desk at the nearest Apple Store (be sure and get an appointment before you go or you could spend hours waiting to see a Genius). Diagnostics are free and if repairs/cleaning is recommended they can tell you what the cost will be.

If we knew what it was we were doing, it wouldn't be called research, would it?

— Albert Einstein
andreassimon #33536 03/24/15 02:05 PM