FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Safari slower than Firefox on certain website
#49092 06/15/18 09:03 PM
OP Offline

I have been using a website for a few months now without problems. Just recently I can barely load it up when using Safari but have no problems with Firefox which I'd rather not use.

I am wondering why this would be. I'm not using the latest version of Safari but so what? It worked before.

Any ideas? Thanks.

MacBook Pro - M2, Ventura 13.6
Safari Tech Prev 17.0
Safari 16.6
Firefox 116.0.2
iPhone 7 Version 15.8

Re: Safari slower than Firefox on certain website
plantsower #49093 06/15/18 10:26 PM

If it's only that single site, then its provider has obviously made changes which are inimical to Safari (but not Firefox — which has introduced many features with its Quantum version which dramatically affect loading speed inter alia).
Often a site will make changes which are not supported by one browser or another and they're unwilling to continue supporting such browsers.
You'd best contact the site's support team to find out what's going on.

plantsower #49094 06/15/18 10:28 PM

Just because it worked before doesn't mean they have not changed something on the site that is slowing things down, maybe even a third party advertising banner or a change in the HTML coding. SInce this is unique to an individual website if you could give us the URL we could see if the problem is specific to the site or unique to your configuration.