FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Affinity Publisher
#51871 06/21/19 01:38 PM
deniro Offline OP
OP Offline

I'm curious if any of you have had a chance to look at Affinity Publisher, particularly those with experience in design and desktop publishing who might comment on how this inexpensive program compares to those of the past by Adobe and Quark.

https://affinity.serif.com/en-us/live/
https://affinity.serif.com/en-us/publisher/

Re: Affinity Publisher
deniro #51877 06/21/19 09:02 PM

I have been using the Affinity Publisher beta for several months now and I just installed the release version. Although I am in no way a Publisher, or InDesign guru I can safely say none of the Affinity products are a knock off of anything from Adobe and does their magic their own way. The biggest complaint I have seen about any of them has been "why doesn't it support the pick your command like Adobe?" or "Why doesn't Publisher do XXX like InDesign. In most case the current Affinity product release accomplishes the same end result but via a different command or menu or series of steps. I am more of a dabbler than power user (much less guru) and it has been a long time since I used InDesign, but from my limited experience I believe Affinity Publisher is a viable competitor with Adobe InDesign.[/I] I have zero experience with the Quark product(s) so I cannot comment there.

Like all very powerful software products there is a significant learning curve but Affinity offers several well done video tutorials. They also offer comprehensive training Workbooks for Designer and Photo and a Publisher workbook is also promised. There is also a very active and lively Affinity user community. I suspect for someone coming from Adobe the re-learning curve may not be as steep, bit it is likely filled with pitfalls due to assumptions/expectations based on prior experience.