for Macintosh users.

FineTunedMac Dashboard widget now available! Download Here

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Google surrender
#64341 08/03/23 12:45 PM
OP Offline

I couldn't bring myself to post this in the networking forum, because it is just an observation:

I'd been using Safari for quite awhile as my default browser, then it started behaving strangely as observed in another thread. There have been two new releases since, and neither has solved the picture loading problem for me.

I went back to Opera and like it. Recently, however, ads have been annoying me. I have never used Chrome before. I finally decided that there is nothing left for Google to learn about me, so broke down and installed Chrome.

Pretty decent browser, but this is the reason for my post:

Google's Chrome browser does a terrific job of block ads. Who would have thought when it is Google choosing which ads to show you! I'm in Chrome now, only because all my bookmarks are set up for Opera. I think Chrome might be my default browser soon, unless someone can persuade me otherwise. You know, dark force and all that...

iMac (19,1, 3.1 GHz i5, 12.7.4, 40 Gb RAM); MacBook Air (1.8 Ghz, 8 Gb RAM, 10.14.6, 256 Gb SSD) Vodafone router and Devolo Wi-Fi Extender, Canon TS8351 printer/scanner.
Re: Google surrender
freelance #64343 08/03/23 06:03 PM

You might also take a look at Brave an offshoot of Chrome, but sans some of Chrome's hidden phone home code. No matter what browser you use ad blocking will at best be temporary. There is enough money involved to assure the best minds in the business will be devoted to getting around any ad blocker strategy sooner rather than later. I recently encountered a web site that offered a significant discount on their products -- if you disabled ad-blockers.

If we knew what it was we were doing, it wouldn't be called research, would it?

— Albert Einstein
joemikeb #64344 08/03/23 07:13 PM